Martin Cooper's Linux Blog

All things Linux …

GRUB2, change the background image

I’ve just install Debian Wheezy and don’t particularly like the space themed background so decided to replace it

I just want a black background so produced a black image in GIMP 640×480 pixels called grub.png then copied it from my home to /usr/share/images with

$ sudo cp ~/martin /usr/share/images/grub.png

then I edit grub with;

$ sudo leafpad /etc/default/grub

and add

GRUB_BACKGROUND=/usr/share/images/grub.png

under this section:

GRUB_DEFAULT=0
GRUB_TIMEOUT=5
GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR=`lsb_release -i -s 2> /dev/null || echo Debian`
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=”quiet”
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=””
GRUB_BACKGROUND=/usr/share/images/grub.png

and uncomment
GRUB_GFXMODE=640×480

then update it with;

$ sudo update-grub

on reboot I now get GRUB with a all black background, changing the GRUB_TIMEOUT=5 number will also change the time GRUB shows on the screen, GRUB_TIMEOUT=0 with prevent it showing at all if you wish.

One response to “GRUB2, change the background image

  1. where can I buy software January 30, 2013 at 5:09 pm

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I’ll be
    subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

Leave a Reply

